Chakras are the energy centres of the body.  Their first mention is found in ancient Indian spiritual texts, the Vedas, thousands of years ago.  They are widely linked to many forms of Yoga and meditation.

Chakra means ‘Wheel’ or ‘Disc’ in Sanskrit, hence the usually disc shaped images associated with them.  Yoga and meditation, in their many forms, are considered the best way to encourage energies to flow throughout the body and the throughout the Chakras. 

Starting at the bottom of the body and going up, there are 7 chakras:

  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Third Eye Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

  • Location – Base of the spine
  • Colour – Red
  • Element – Earth
  • Yoga – Tree Pose (Vrksasana)
  • Associated Crystal – Obsidian, Black Tourmaline, Bloodstone

Do not see the Root Chakra as the lowest Chakra, more so the foundation Chakra.  Root represents our most basic needs and instinctual behaviours. This includes instincts, fear, security and above all survival.  

It is through the connection to our Root Chakra that we make peace with our nature.  We gain acceptance of life, and death, and build the foundation of our spirituality.

Relaxation techniques in addition to meditative practice, and often grounding plant medicines such as Cacao, will allow for the opening of the Root Chakra.  Read about plant medicines here.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Detailed Sacral Chakra Symbol
  • Location –  At the Sacrum
  • Colour – Orange
  • Element – Water 
  • Yoga – Godess Pose (Deviasana)
  • Associated Stone – Citrine, Orange and coral calcite

The sacral chakra represents your pleasure, sexual, emotional and relationship expressions.   

If you are a creative type of person this energy centre can be focussed on to release all that creative energy you have stored up inside.  Also when it is well balanced the second chakra leads to a joy and appreciation of being alive. 

In short opening the sacral chakra often involves experimentation and being open to new feelings and emotions.  Understanding that life is more than the sensations you have become accustomed to is very important here. 

sunlit spiritual path with trees

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Detailed Root Solar Plexus Symbol
  • Location – At the Solar Plexus
  • Colour – Yellow
  • Element – Fire
  • Yoga – Boat Pose (Navasana)
  • Associated Stone – Amber, Tigers Eye

This is where we have a connection with our identity, our ego-self and even our spiritual ego.

Our sense of self is an important driver in our ambitions, including our ambition to rid ourselves of ego.  Whilst self esteem and individuality are not the ultimate goal on a spiritual path, it is important to recognise them and have good relationship with them.

In having a good connection with the Solar Plexus Chakra we recognise that external change is always there.  The inner being however, remains.  Accepting change, fears, doubts and changes in emotions is key. 

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Detailed Heart Chakra Symbol
  • Location – Centre of the chest
  • Colour – Green
  • Element – Air
  • Yoga – Camal Pose (Ustrasana) 
  • Associated Stone – Rose Quartz, Jade, Green Tourmaline

Acceptance of ourselves and of others.  The understanding of the role that love plays within existence.  The Heart Chakra is where physical and spiritual love combine.

Your ability to love and be loved resides here.  Deep and meaningful connections with others, nature and yourself can be found in the Heart Chakra.  Appreciation and love for those around you and equally  those who you may never meet.  

Self centred goals and the development of the ego self (and desires) need to be removed to open the heart space.  There are several realisations that can be made to increase energy flow here, but not least of which is that life is about helping others. 

Throat Chakra (Visuddha)

Detailed Throat Chakra Symbol
  • Located – Pit of the throat
  • Colour – Blue
  • Element – Ether
  • Yoga – Supported Shoulder Stand (Salamba Sarvangasana)
  • Associated Stone – Aquamarine, Turquoise

Sound, vibration, communication, speaking, bonding with others. 

The Throat Chakra is linked to your vocation in life, your purpose.  Blockages here can lead to speaking without thinking and without considering others.  Similarly, not telling the truth because it hurts rather than embracing the truth for all its good and bad.  

Third Eye Chakra (Ajña)

Detailed Third Eye Chakra Symbol
  • Location – Middle of the forehead just above the eyes
  • Colour – Indigo
  • Element – Light
  • Yoga – Easy Pose (Sukhasana)
  • Associated Stone – Amethyst, Moldavite

Now we are on our way to connection with a higher self, to the divine.  A clear Third Eye Chakra enables us to see clearly the separation, likewise the connection, in our own life.  

Allowing yourself to see that which you have been blind to, because of your conditioning, is the sign your third eye is opening.  We can all be narrow minded because of our ego self and its ‘identity’. 

This is the eye of the soul, it sees only love. It is a connection to higher realms and higher levels of consciousness. 

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Detailed Crown Chakra Symbol
  • Location – Top of the head.
  • Colour – Violet White 
  • Element – Cosmic Energy 
  • Yoga – Corpse Pose (Savasana)
  • Associated Stone – Clear Quartz, Diamond, Amethyst

The highest Chakra, the true connection to oneness and your true nature. 

Transcendence, bliss, realisation and enlightenment are found here.  The acknowledgement that joy is in fact not found within our individuality, but in oneness.  When energies flow through our Crown Chakra we are connected to all.  However when blocked it can lead to a disconnection from the physical reality and ‘Earthly’ matters. 

All the other Chakras are supposed to aligned and opened before the Crown can be realised.  However, this does not mean that experiences cannot present themselves from time to time. 


Firstly find where you blockages are and use meditation and the yoga poses above for the corresponding Chakra.  Secondly meditate with the stone you need the most.  

In conclusion Chakra healing and knowledge builds new pathways to spirituality.  Likewise, it can remove that which has been causing blockages.  I encourage you to read more in to the world of healing and connectivity using what I’ve touched on here! 

I hope you found ‘Basics You Need To Know About The 7 Chakras’ useful.  Please leave a comment below about your experiences with the Chakras.